News Post

21 July 2015

Exclusive News – Watch out There’s a Hurricane Coming ‘September’

0 Comment
SPV News

Press Release July 21st, 2015

As diverse as international rock’n’roll music presents itself today, as many twists and turns as it may have taken in the past 50 years: whenever this brand of music comes from the UK, it automatically appears to have an unmistakable British flair. This may well be due to the fact that Britain is considered to be the birthplace of rock music and can look back on a centuries-old tradition of that genre. Because really: what would the world be like today without Led Zeppelin, without Free, The Who and the Stones?

A question which The Jokers from Liverpool like to answer to in their very own way. Hurricane, the third album by the four-piece surrounding vocalist Wane Parry and guitarist Paul Hurst leaves no doubt where their roots are and where their direction is taking them. “The style we play is ‘big rock’, that sound and feel runs through all our albums,” Hurst explains, adding: “Groove, riff-based songs with a strong top-line vocal melody and hooks. With Hurricane, we have still maintained this sound but tried to capture more of the raw live energy of the band in the recordings.” An energy which oozes through all 12 tracks (plus bonus material) on the album. 
Even after their 2013 release Rock’n’Roll Is Alive, The Jokers used every opportunity to present their haunting rock songs to the public. Countless club gigs all over the UK, a three-week tour of Spain, appearances at renowned festivals, such as Planet Rockstock, Hard Rock Hell and GuildfestThe Jokersknow that they usually find the most important inspirations for their music in the streets. In addition, the musicians started directly after the release ofRock’n’Roll Is Alive – along with their live activities – to integrate those influences into new material. As often as possible, Parry, Hurst and the two new additions Dan Evans (drums) and Phil Hartley (bass) met at their rehearsal room to work on the material for Hurricane. Talking of new additions: Parry and Hurst have obviously struck home when it comes to their two new band members: “Dan has been with the band for the last two years. His style is a cross between John Bonham and Stuart Copeland. Phil on bass has the look of a Viking but plays like Andy Fraser.”

Hurricane will be out on 18 September 2015 (USA October 02nd) on Steamhammer/SPV as CD, LP and Download, a date which will go down as a memorable day with all fans of traditional rock music and a highlight for this genre in general.

You’re Gone // The Jokers - Rock And Roll Bones
  1. You’re Gone // The Jokers - Rock And Roll Bones
  2. Rock And Roll Bones // The Jokers - Rock And Roll Bones
  3. Walk Through The Door // The Jokers - Rock And Roll Bones
  4. Slap Back // The Jokers - Rock And Roll Bones
  5. Water On Fire // The Jokers - Rock And Roll Bones
  6. Cold Heart // The Jokers - Rock And Roll Bones
  7. Ghost Road // The Jokers - Rock And Roll Bones
  8. Find My Way Home // The Jokers - Rock And Roll Bones
  9. Snake Oil Devil // The Jokers - Rock And Roll Bones
  10. Supercell Brothers // The Jokers - Rock And Roll Bones
  11. Cold Granite Stone // The Jokers - Rock And Roll Bones
  12. Queen Of America // The Jokers - Rock And Roll Bones